If you have been arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Tarrant, Dallas, Wise, Collin, or Cooke County, The Law Offices of James H. Horton, PC can help you minimize some of the serious consequences you face if you are convicted.
The most important thing to remember about DWI charges is that time is of the essence: in Texas you only have 15 days to request an administrative license revocation hearing, or face an automatic suspension of your license before your trial begins. It is critical to obtain experienced representation as soon as possible, as this administrative hearing can also help us prepare your defense, as it provides an opportunity to hear the evidence the prosecution has against you.
You can be charged with a DWI anytime you operate a vehicle in public while intoxicated with alcohol or other drugs. Under current law, you are legally intoxicated if you are driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher; for other drugs, you are legally intoxicated if you have lost use of your physical or mental faculties. In Texas, a first DWI conviction is a Class B misdemeanor. Potential punishments include jail time ranging from 72 hours to 180 days and/or a fine of up to $2,000, as well as a license suspension for up to 180 days.
Multiple DWI convictions come with significantly increased punishments. A second DWI conviction becomes a Class A misdemeanor, which includes jail time between 30 days and one year and a possible fine of up to $4,000, plus a one to two year license suspension. A third DWI conviction becomes a Third Degree felony, which comes with between two and ten years of jail time, a possible fine of up to $10,000, and a license suspension for up to two years.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
In Texas, DUI is a separate crime and occurs when someone under the age of 21 has any detectable amount of alcohol in his or her system. DUI conviction is a Class C misdemeanor; first-time offenders face a fine of up to $500, mandatory alcohol education classes, license suspension for up to 180 days, and community service. Multiple offenders face as many as 180 days of jail time, a fine of up to $2,000, and a two-year license suspension.
If you have been charged with DWI, it is critical to hire an experienced DWI attorney who knows how to handle these cases. In many cases, it is possible to uncover evidence that will help us negotiate reduced punishments or obtain a full dismissal. In addition to our experience successfully defending DWI charges, we are committed to providing thorough and honest representation so that you can make informed decisions about your defense. Contact The Law Offices of James H. Horton, PC today to find out how we can help you preserve your rights.